Ball Moved When Measuring to Determine if Re-Drop Required

Situation:

Early last season while officiating a Juniors Golf Tournament sponsored by the local section of the PGA, a player was taking a drop for an unplayable lie. After dropping the ball within two club lengths, the ball rolled away. The player knew if the ball had rolled more than two club lengths he would need to re-drop (something many adults don’t know). As he was measuring with his driver, the player touched the ball and caused it to move. The question was then asked if the player incurred a penalty for causing the ball to move in this instance.

Ruling:

There would be no penalty for causing the ball to move in this case. If after measuring, the ball had rolled more than two club lengths, a re-drop was required. If the ball was within the two club lengths the player would just be required to replace the ball. This is addressed in Rule 18-6.

 

Do you have a Rules question you would like answered? Contact me. Gary@thenextgolfshot.com

Comments are closed.