Competitor rinses club in water hazard

Situation:

A player approached me after the round was completed but prior to the signing of score cards. The competitor had played a stroke within a water hazard but did not get the ball out of the hazard. The ball had landed in deep water and was definitely unplayable. The competitor then rinsed his club off in the water hazard. The player claimed a two stroke penalty was incurred for grounding the club in the hazard while the ball was still in the hazard. Did the competitor violate the rules when he rinsed his club in the hazard while the ball was still in the hazard?

Ruling:

No. There is a decision, 13-4/40, addressing this exact issue. If there is no doubt or it is reasonable to assume from the player’s actions or statements that he will play his next stroke from outside the water hazard.

 

Do you have a Rules question you would like answered? Contact me. Gary@thenextgolfshot.com

 

Comments are closed.